Post Primary Schools Services Commission, Awka Zone is one of the six educational zones in Anambra State, set-up for the effective and efficient supervision, management and co-ordination of Post Primary (Secondary) schools - Public and Mission schools (with government Partnership).

The Awka zonal office of the Commission is about the largest of the six zones, covering five local government areas – Awka-North, Awka-South, Anaocha, Dunukofia and Njikoka Local Government Areas. The zonal office oversees the activities of the schools that fall under the local governments under its jurisdiction, under the overall control of the Post Primary Schools Services Commission, Headquarters, Awka.

Currently the zone hosts sixty-one (61) Public and Mission schools.

Our Vision:

To develop the staff and provide enabling environment for them to effectively carry out monitoring, supervision and other duties that will enhance proper teaching, learning and other co-curricular activities of our educational goal.

Our Mission:

• Human Development through staff forum, seminars and workshops including computer training programs

• More in-depth supervision and monitoring of teaching and learning activities in schools.

• Maintenance of existing facilities.

Our Core Values:

With the second highest enrolment rate in the state, the zone is dedicated to pursuing the dream of ensuring that every child of secondary school age, is enrolled into a school. To this end, sustained effort is being channeled into sensitization and community awareness campaigns, in order to realign society perception on issues like - girl child education, the importance of basic formal education as opposed to learning trade etc.

For us in Awka Zone, Staff welfare is at the core of our hearts. We are not just dedicated to improving the teaching and non-teaching staff of the zone through frequent seminars and workshops but we also concern ourselves with supporting them in their personal lives.

For us, every staff is a cherished member of the family.

Schools in the zone are listed below:


 S/NSchool NameLGA
1 Capital City Secondary School AwkaAwka South
2 Community High School AguluzigboAnaocha
3 Community High School AkwaezeAnaocha
4 Community High School NawguDunukofia
5 Community Secondary School AbbaNjikoka
6 Community Secondary School AchalaAwka North
7 Community Secondary School AguluAnaocha
8 Community Secondary School Agulu AwkaAwka South
9 Community Secondary School AmanseaAwka North
10 Community Secondary school AmanukeAwka North
11 Community Secondary School AmawbiaAwka South
12 Community Secondary School Awba-OfemiliAwka North
13 Community Secondary School EbenebeAwka North
14 Community Secondary School Enugwu Agidi (GSS)Njikoka
15 Community Secondary School IchidaAnaocha
16 Community Secondary School IsiaguAwka South
17 Community Secondary School IsuaniochaAwka North
18 Community Secondary School MbaukwuAwka South
19 Community Secondary School MgbakwuAwka North
20 Community Secondary School Nimo (GSS)Njikoka
21 Community Secondary School ObeleduAnaocha
22 Community Secondary School OkpunoAwka South
23 Community Secondary School UkpoDunukofia
24 Community Secondary School UkwuluDunukofia
25 Community Secondary School UmunachiDunukofia
26 Community Secondary School UmuokpuAwka South
27 Community Secondary School UrumAwka North
28 Emeka Aghasili High School NiseAwka South
29 Ezi-Awka Community Secondary School AwkaAwka South
30 Ezike High School NiboAwka South
31 Flora Azikiwe Model Comprehensive Secondary School NeniAnaocha
32 Girls Secondary School Adazi-NnukwuAnaocha
33 Government Technical College Enugwu AgidiNjikoka
34 Holy Cross High School Umuawulu/MbaukwuAwka South
35 Ide Secondary School Enugu-UkwuNjikoka
36 Igwebuike Grammar School AwkaAwka South
37 Kenneth Dike Memorial Secondary School AwkaAwka South
38 Lake City Secondary School NriAnaocha
39 Nawfia Community Secondary School NawfiaNjikoka
40 Nnamdi Azikiwe Secondary School AbaganaNjikoka
41 Nneamaka Girls Secondary school IfitedunuDunukofia
42 Nneoma Community Secondary School NiboAwka South
43 Ojiakor Memorial Grammar School Adazi-AniAnaocha
44 Okutalukwe Secondary School Enugu-UkwuNjikoka
45 Regal Secondary School NriAnaocha
46 Union Secondary School AguluAnaocha
47 Union Secondary School AmawbiaAwka South
48 Union Secondary School UmuawuluAwka South
49 Walter Eze Memorial Secondary School (BSS) UkpoDunukofia
50 Willie Obiano Secondary School Enugwu AguleriAnaocha