The Departments and Units of the Commission form the wheel that stride the organization towards its desired goals, aims and objectives. They are the medium of transforming policies into action plans and implementation. Each department or unit represents a core role of the commission as is articulated in the schedule of duties setting up each department or unit.

  1. Accounts Department

    Mission :"To receive funds and remit or disburse same in accordance with the prevailing fiscal policy and regulatory framework."

    The Department manages the finances of the Commission, ensuring that rules are strictly adhered to and that the Commission adopts a culture of financial discipline.

  2. Admin Department

    Mission :"To provide effective administration and management of human and material resources; creating enabling environment for the Commission's workforce."

    The Administrative department is saddled with the task of ensuring that man, materials and methods are properly synchronized in order to harness optimal performance from every resource available to the Commission.

  3. Education Services Department

    Mission :"To provide a system for enhanced effective educational system for quality education and value for money."

    The Education Services Department is divided into Five (5) Units according to the services they perform, in order to allow each unit focus on a core element of post primary education in the state.

  4. Science & Tech.

    Mission :"To relate teaching and learning of science subjects with its application to technology for living."

    It comprises of Five (5) Units for effective performance.

    • Science Education Unit
    • Technical Education Unit
    • Works and Maintenance Unit

  5. SEQAD

    Mission :"To ensure sound content and appropriate distribution of teaching-learning items in accordance with set standard and best practices."

    The Schools and Education Quality Assurance Department is at the core of the primary mandate of the Commission; charged with crafting and fostering ways by...

  6. PRS Department

    Mission :"To collate and analyse educational data for research and planning to aid effective educational service delivery and is divided into three units to achieve this mission:..."

    The Planning, Research and Statistics Department popularly called the PRS department is responsible for providing the analytical framework to aid Management in its decision making...

  7. Units

  8. Corporate Unit

    Mission :"..."

    Details coming soon

  9. INCU

    Mission :"To ensure that the commissionís laid down rules/regulation and codes of conduct are observed both in the offices (Headquarters and Zonal offices) and in the field (Public Secondary Schools)."

    The unit is principally a regulatory outfit of the commission it performs the following function:

  10. INTU

    Mission :"An internal control mechanism put in place in the commission for internal checks and balances and reports directly to the Chairman of the commission."

    Internal Audit Unit came into existence with the creation of Anambra State in 1991 when State Education Commission was established at Ifitedunu, Dunukofia LGA Anambra State. It was headed by Chief L.C. Okeke, who put in all the necessary structures in the six educational zones of the state for effective financial monitoring and control in the new state. It has since grown in functions and number as schools have grown.

  11. Legal Unit


    The legal unit of the commission is as old as the commission itself. It is an autonomous unit within the commission, and is directly under the office of the Chairman. The legal unit serves as the nerve centre, that co-ordinates and ensures that all administrative functions, actions, decisions, orders, values and regulations of various departments of the commission are exercised within the ambits of the law.

  12. Offices

  13. Office of The Chairman

    Mission :"To ensure the realization of the Mission and vision of the State Post-Primary Schools Services Commission (PPSSC)"


    1. Function as the chief Executive of the Commission.
    2. Receive and act on mails of the commission and ensures the implementation of all directives from the State Governor and the Hon. Commissioner for Education.
    3. Give directives to the Secretary for implementation by the Directors, HODs and other Officers of the commission.

  14. Office of The Secretary

    Mission :"To see to the effective co-ordination of the activities of the Post Primary Schools Services Commission."

    STRUCTURE: The Office of the Secretary has two Units as follows:-

    I. Minutes production Unit
    II. Secretary's Office