About Us

To be an educational agency committed to students excellence in academics and moral character with relevant life skills for a better society.

The Anambra State Post Primary Schools Services Commission, was established as the Anambra State Education Commission by the Revised Education Laws of Anambra State of Nigeria, 1991. In response to socio-cultural evolutions, the Education Law of 1991 was amended by the 1995 Education Law (Amendment) Edict. The Edict among other changes to the education sector, changed the name of the Commission from the Anambra State Education Commission to the Anambra State Post Primary Schools Services Commission (ANSPPSSC). The Commission by that law became a body corporate with perpetual succession, a common seal and with power to sue and be sued in its corporate name.

The Commission consists of a Chairman, who is the Chief Executive of the Commission, and four other members appointed on full-time basis by the Governor of the State. The Commission also has a Secretary, appointed by the Governor of the State, who is responsible for the day to day administration of the affairs of the Commission, conducts the correspondence and keeps the records thereof and performs such other administrative duties as the Commission may from time to time direct, or which are placed on her by law.

The PPSSC has its headquarters in Awka with six zonal offices at Aguata, Awka, Nnewi, Ogidi, Onitsha and Otuocha. The headquarters has six departments and four autonomous units under which the staff are categorized. The headquarters staff, operate under six directors and four Heads of units.

The six departments run by Directors are Administration, Accounts, Planning, Research and Statistics (PRS), Schools and Education Quality Assurance Department (SEQAD), Education Services Department (ESD) and Science & Technology Department (S&T). The four autonomous units run by Heads (HOU) who report directly to the Chief Executive of the Commission are Internal Audit Unit (INTU), Legal Unit, Information Unit (CA/CR), and Investigations and Compliance Unit (INCU). The zonal offices are run by respective board members in-charge and Zonal Directors of Education (ZDE’s).


Of the commission are as follows:-


1. The major function of the commission is the management of all Post Primary Schools or institutions subject to the general directions of the Hon. Commissioner of Education.

2. Collection of School fees and other revenue.


Students' Internal Results & Evaluation, eLearning, School Calendar, Competitions/Scholarship,eTranscript,etc

Click to View


3. Supervision and Quality Assurance.

4. Investigation of matters affecting post primary schools and institutions.


Teaching & Non-Teaching Bio-data, Postings, Retirements, Leaves, etc

Click to View


5. Establishment of schemes for staff development.

6. Consult with and advise the Ministry of Education.


School Buildings, Classrooms, furniture, etc

Click to View